Charlotte, NC - September 18, 2016: San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick (7) walks off the field at Bank of America Stadium with his fist up in the air after their game against the Panthers.(Gerry Melendez for ESPN)

Colin Kaepernick finished his sixth and possibly last season in a 49ers uniform this past Sunday and was voted by his teammates to receive the Len Eshmont award-the most prestigious team award that the 49ers hand out each season.

“The thing to me that stood out is it was my teammates that voted on it. That really means a lot to me. I can’t express how grateful I am to have teammates like I did this year. They stood behind me, regardless of any situation that went on. I had a lot of great conversations in the locker room. Even today, in a situation we had a lot of injuries and a lot of players who were new stepping on the field, we went out and fought together. We stayed together until the very end and gave everything we had.”

Given to the 49er who “best exemplifies the inspirational and courageous play of Len Eshmont, the award was established in 1957 after his passing. Eshmont was a member of the 49ers’ first team in 1946, and spent four seasons with the team before moving on to a coaching career at Navy and Virginia.

By winning the Eshmont Award, Kaepernick joins a star studded list of past 49ers players who have been given the award that includes Joe Montana, Steve Young, Roger Craig and Jerry Rice.